oh yeah…I’m still here.

So, I been up to my neck for the past few days.  I apologize for not updating sooner.  I have thoughts daily on things I want to blog on, but then I’m either doing work, or my internet slows down (as it does in the evening when everyone’s home) and I just don’t feel like being bothered with waiting for pictures uploading and all that jazz.
So, today was my first day of school.  What can I say?  It was great.  The students as a majority reacted well to my presence in the classroom.  I also got several parents who came to me today and said that there children remarked on how much they think they’re going to like the class, and how nice I seemed, etc.  So, we’re off to a good start. Hopefully I can maintain the  enthusiasm of the students who were enthusiastic (which was the word of the day), and get the ones who weren’t so enthusiastic fired up.
Also, I’m in need of posters (dealing with history, politics, or any other social science) as well as room decorations.  I have nothing.  My room looks like an Army barrack.  If anyone has anything, or any resources (looking for a discount, like….free!) and would be willing to mail me something/anything, please get at me.

So, I got a great idea.  Something we did at SXU that I really enjoyed was a Constitution Day celebration (Sept. 17th). So, I’m trying to figure out things that I can do to make this day a little more fun and celebratory (but still a worthwhile learning experience) for students.  I’d like to start with simply my classes this year, and hopefully in the future, could move on to a full jr. high /high school celebration of some sort.

So, I looked here: http://www.constitutioncenter.org/ncc_progs_Constitution_Day.aspx http://www.constitutioncenter.org/ncc_progs_Constitution_Day.aspx

and found some great ideas.  If anyone else has any ideas or suggestions, do let me know.  This is all a work in progress.  I’m all about pulling any and everything from outside the classroom and textbook (blah) that can provide real world learning opportunities.

So, that about sums it up for the morning.  I will post pictures of my current living situation, as well as some other blogs and thoughts ASAP.

BTW, Highlight of the day:  Being chased by a dog at 7:30am on the way to school. Man these feet can move fast when they need to.

Lowlight of the day:  One of my students, raising his hand, and when I call on him asking, “Are you a christian?”
Umm……

4 thoughts on “oh yeah…I’m still here.

  1. Congrats on your first day of school! 🙂 Even bigger congrats on beating the dog to class – LOL – I knew you’d put those shoes to work! In regards to Constitution Day, would the U of Alaska have some posters they’d be willing to share/loan/give?

  2. HEY D…………….I LOVE THE BLOG………….I WILL BE SENDING U SOME DECO FOR UR CLASS…………………ALONG WITH A PHOTO OF ME TO SIT ON UR DESK………….LOL J/K……….GLAD U BEAT THE DOG…….SURE IT WAS A DOG RIGHT AND NOT A WOLF………..LMAO…………AND UMMMMMMMMMM THE LOWLIGHT OF THE DAY………..I ALMOST FELL OUT MY CHAIR…………..KIDS……..GOTTA LUV EM……..HAVE A GREAT 2ND DAY……….GLAD EVERYTHING IS SO FAR SO GOOD…….LOVE YA!!~~

Leave a Reply

