Rule #32: Enjoy the little things

First, let me start by saying that when I first thought about posting this blog, I thought about the title…which for those of you who are somewhat cool

will deduce, comes from one of my fave films, Zombieland.  Well, I did a little googling, and came across these fabulous gems:

That’s a t-shirt developed by a Zombieland fan site.  I also found that a sequel is in the works.  Excited I say, excited.

However, back to my point:
So, living in such a dynamically different situation on a rather sudden timeline, I’ve learned that you must follow the aforementioned rule:  Enjoy the little things.

Case in point:  I finally found a way to watch UFC pay per views.  Now, for those of you who know me now, watching the fights is like something I always do.  I can’t recall the last PPV I missed prior to moving here, and then I missed the Penn/Edgar rematch, and such.

Well, I found a bar here in town that shows the fights.  Seems the owner is a fan, which is excellent.  Not only did I get to watch, but I got to talk, laugh, and enjoy some camaraderie, which was pleasant.  Even though the fights were lackluster at best, it was still like a taste of the norm, of what I’m accustomed to, and it made me smile.  When I found out that the Tok Lodge Bar was showing the fights, my spirits immediately lifted, and I was in a fabulous mood.  It was great.

Beyond that, simple things like my favorite movies, tv shows that I enjoy (and get to watch online from time to time due to dicey internet) and talking with friends, all of these are little things which we often take for granted.  Well, I learned years ago not to take the little things for granted, and now it has become even more pronounced.

So, to reiterate:  Enjoy the little things.  You never know when they may disappear, or go away for a jaunt across the country.  I’m just sayin’.

2 thoughts on “Rule #32: Enjoy the little things

  1. Awesome movie, awesome I say… Excited to hear that they’re doing a sequel… almost as excited as I am to get to see RE:Apocolypse. I love the rules – they made the movie fun and intruiging to say the least, and I agree, enjoy the little things.

    It seems that you are doing well up there, and finding that little by little, you can find pieces of home that make you feel more comfortable. I am glad 🙂

    I look forward to reading your blogs all the time – thank you for this one, which came at an appropriate time to something I’m dealing with.

    Love and miss ya…
    Chrissy

Leave a Reply

