“…just lend yourself over to it…”

Well, the other day, I was doing a little spring cleaning, and listening to the Fightworks Podcast.  The Fightworks Podcast is an excellent audio podcast that I came across about a year ago, and it is all about Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.  What first attracted me to it was the interviews.  It has anybody and everybody on there.  It’s a great resource for those who train, as well as just any fan.

Well, I’m way behind on the podcast.  Time just seems to get away from me (evidence being the fact of how much time has elapsed since my last post).  So, I was listening to an older episode, and the hosts were interviewing Marshal Carper, author of “The Cauliflower Chronicles: A Grappler’s Tale of Self-Discovery and Island Living”.

So, Carper at some point decided, “I’m gonna go to Hawaii and train at BJ Penn’s gym.”  So, he packed up his crap, and off he went.  How awesome is that?  So, he was talking about the experience, and the book, and his perspective on jiu jitsu and what makes it such a life encompassing activity for those who just lend themselves over to it.

So, this interview got me totally stoked.  Not about life here in Tok though….about my SUMMER IN CHICAGO!!!  There was something about Carper’s words that just kind of put me in the correct frame of mind, particularly dealing with jiu jitsu.  Just taking a few months to just focus on your training, and letting it just guide you through your days.  I loved the sound of that.  That is exactly what I want to do.  I also want to enjoy the city, and see friends, but I want my BJJ training to take center stage in my summer.

So, that’s the plan.  I was super scared concerning transportation, and more specifically, gas prices at the current time, and projected gas prices for the summer.  But, at this juncture, I have a buddy who has agreed to lend his couch to a gym rat in need. I’m not yet sure how I want or plan to address the car situation.  But other than that, I think it will be a fabulous summer.  I’ve already registered for the “L.A.T.E. Ride” (renting a bike) and unfortunately “Bike the Drive” is before I get back in town. However, when I start thinking about all the festivals, and art, and music, and the frenzy of the city, I can barely contain my excitement.

I’m also majorly excited about meeting my best friend’s family for the first time.  That should be great.  They seem like fabulous people.  I’ve spoken with a few of the brood on Facebook, so it’ll be nice to finally meet face to face, and spend some time with the bestie as well.  It’s always nice to get to a place of quiet and humdrum days, and that is surely what her neck of the woods has to offer, but I look forward to it as well.

Woo!  I am excited.  Ecstatic.  I can’t wait to take pictures, and hear the sounds of the city.  Perhaps I’ll drag my guitar down to the lake and just sit looking out on the water and playing Dave Matthews tunes.  Can’t wait to see what the summer has to offer.

One thought on ““…just lend yourself over to it…”

  1. I can’t wait for you to return to the mainland and visit with me and the fam. It will totally be the highlight of my summer for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

