Hours 1 and 2…

…of course I’m talking about jiu jitsu.  Wow!  What can I say.  Well, let’s say it like this:  I had to be reminded by my partner:

1) Not to be hard on myself
2) That I’ve been gone a long time, and it’ll take a while to get back into the swing of things.

Jiu Jitsu is surely a lesson in humbleness, and humility, perseverance, and patience.  I like to think I possess, all of those, but man, it’s tough being completely below a level I once was at, and it’s not like I was devastatingly good…but now, I’m devastatingly bad.  However, that’s what training is all about:  improving, and learning , and growing, and evolving.  I’m so looking forward to doing all of those things.  I will be returning tomorrow for more training.

In other news…I’ve been back in Chicago 2 full days and it feels like a whirlwind.  I’ve been talking to a guy about an apartment, and checked out the place.  It’s awesome.  However, I’m still talking with a few other people, and will see what materializes first.  I will feel much better once I have somewhere to squat over a freshly dug cat hole.  Anywho, I was hanging out with a friend last night, and feel asleep on her couch watching Book of Eli, and I coincidentally plan on doing the same thing tonight (didn’t get to finish it..duh), so it’s nice catching up with friends, and living something more to the life I once had.

Also, I bought a car today.  I’m not exactly sure how that happened, but it did.  It’s a 2011 Subaru Legacy.  I freaking love it.  I was sweating the whole process like a slave fresh off the boat.  I get buyers remorse very easily, and I would rather see the money I spent today sitting in my savings account, but in the end, I know it was a smart decision (had 2 miles on it, and only for 2,000 more for the car I looked at yesterday which was 2 years older and 20,000 miles on it).  In addition, the Subaru dealership was more than happy to register and title my car in Alaska, which was something Carmax was completely unwilling to do.  The difference being that Subaru saved me $2300 in taxes.  So, they made a believer out of me, and I’m sure I will be a repeat customer.

So, this brings Day 2 of my visit to Chicago to a close.  2 days, 2 hours of training.  I’m feeling saucy.  How many do you think I can do by the end of the summer???

2 thoughts on “Hours 1 and 2…

  1. I can’t wait to see your squeaky-clean-brand-spankin’-new ride! (But really, I’m most excited to see you!) Love, K

Leave a Reply

