CHICAGO FRIENDS, I NEED HELP!!!!!!!

Hey guys and gals, so as we all know, I can’t wait to get back to Chicago for the summer. Now, being over 3000 miles away, facilitating that voyage becomes a bit difficult.  Particularly, finding housing.

So, here’s what I need.  A place to live from May 26th to early August. I primarily want to live as close as possible to the Gracie Barra Chicago Academy at 4900 N. Lincoln Ave.

Last summer, I found an awesome living situation through Craigslist.  I rented a room in an apartment with 2 roommates, in Ravenswood.   I was 1 mile away from the academy and it was awesome!!!!  As you all know, my primary goal for the summer is to train jiu jitsu.  I trained 75 hours last summer, and I want to train just as much, if not more, this summer.  Now don’t get me wrong, I plan on basking in the sun in Millennium Park, and walking around Navy Pier, and all that good stuff.

So, if you know of or see anything in that northside vicinity, please let me know.

Last night I actually replied to an ad on craigslist, and I will post my reply so you can get a gist of what’s going down.  Any help anyone can provide would be awesome.   Also, at this point I’m planning on leaving my car in Alaska, so the closer I can find myself to Lincoln Square the better.  Let’s make something happen people!!!

Hello,

I just came across your ad and thought it sounded great.  My situation is a little unique from your normal subletter, so I’ll try to make a long story short.

I’m 32 years old, male, and I’m from Chicago born and raised.  I graduated from Saint Xavier University May of 2010, and in August 2010 moved to Tok, Alaska for a teaching position.  Well, last summer I came  back to Chicago for the summer, and I would like to do the same again this year.  My only real purpose for coming back is actually to train at the Gracie Barra Brazilian Jiu JItsu Academy (4900 N. Lincoln Ave.)  in Lincoln Square, which is why your ad caught my eye, since it’s in such close proximity.  My family lives on the southwest tip of the city (120th and Pulaski), and with the skyrocketing gas prices (plus the fact I’m probably leaving my car in  Alaska), living in or close to Lincoln Square is what I need.  Last summer I trained a total of 75 hours, and my goal is to top that this summer.  I rented a room with 2 guys (one worked IT, and the other was a nursing student) in Ravenswood last summer, and they can both serve as references as to what it’s like living with me, as well as character etc.  I’m pretty low key.  Due to the high volume of training I do, I tend to relax mostly when I’m at home, watching movies and washing my training clothes.  In addition to training, I also plan to spend time with my friends and family, and do all the fun stuff that I love to do in the summer (Concerts at Millennium Park, SummerDance Festival, seeing live bands, etc.)

Unfortunately, I won’t be in town until May 26th, which I know is not ideal for the dates you posted.  However, I’m replying in the event that you don’t find someone prior to or in early may, that you will give me your consideration.

A little about me:

I’m a 8-12 History/Social Studies teacher at Tok School here in Tok Alaska. I teach an after school Brazilian Jiu Jitsu club. I love to cook, read (mostly non-fiction), and I’m a total movie buff.    I’m literally coming into town with a gym bag of clothes, some books, and a sleeping bag. I’m a very pleasant, easy to get along with fellow.  My main focus will be training, and enjoying the sights and the sounds of the city after being away for almost a year.

Well, I hope to hear from you, and I hope this finds you well.  Thank you!

~Dion

Leave a Reply

