Settled In!

Well I am happy to say that I am settled into my summer domicile.  I’m a firm believer in something on the border of karma.  I think if you’re positive, even…no, ESPECIALLY…when things seem their bleakest, good things will come your way.  If all else fails, you’ve at least displayed and further developed true character and strength.  Well, things were getting a little nerve-wracking, and I was pretty certain that I wasn’t going to find a place that felt “right” for the summer, and was exploring the reality of semi-daily public transportation from Alsip, IL. to Lincoln Square.  And then came my friend Jonnica to the rescue.

Jonnica mentioned that her sister, whom I had messaged with a few times on Facebook, was looking for a summer roommate.  Long story short, I’m that dude!!

My new digs are awesome.  My roommate is awesome (and her family is awesome), and her parents just dropped off an excellent bed this afternoon.   I’m 1.5 miles away from the school. Add to that the fact that I was given an excellent bike to use by my friend Carlene, and my summer is off to an unbelievable start.  I couldn’t be happier!  I’m close to the academy, the train, entertainment galore…I love this part of the city, and if….no….WHEN…I return to Chicago I’m hoping I can find myself here.

So, I’m sure I shall update more as things present themselves.  I’m slowly yet surely filling up my planner with all of the things going on in the city.  Tonight I’m going to see “Pee Wee’s Big Adventure” as part of the Bike to Work Week festivities.  Thursday I’m going to a Bike to Work Week rally downtown (if I can wake up early enough…it starts at 7AM!!!)  and Saturday I’m running in a nighttime glow-in-the-dark 6K!  How awesome is that? I also have 5 hours of training under my belt thus far.  My body is holding up fairly well to the change in climate, as well as training intensity.  It can only get better.

So, if you’re reading this, and you’re one of my Chicago friends, come see me!  I’m in Northcenter!  If you’re one of my Alaska friends, I’m sure that I miss you (believe it or not).  Also, here’s a pic of the dinner I cooked last night for my roommate and I.  Thought it would be a nice way to break the ice and such.  I made Vegan tacos (Big thank you to Elizabeth and Bruce for introducing me to this fabulous product), spanish rice, and a yummy salad!  Breathtaking!  Why am I single again???

Also, I thought this was funny.  I was hopping on the bus today.  I was looking fairly snazzy, and wearing my best smile.  As I got on the bus, a woman smiled at me, and said Good morning, to which I replied the same.  She then said “You must believe in Jesus Christ!”  to which I replied “That’s debatable.”  The look on her face as well as the people around her was priceless.  She looked deeply mystified.  She replied to that with a nod, and I proceeded to my seat.  I love the city!!!

Leave a Reply

