Summer giveth, and summer taketh away….

Wow, I can barely believe I’ve been home a month. I’m loving every minute of it, and still have at least a solid month to enjoy, which I’m so looking forward to.

So, some of you have been asking me about my availability, and what i have going on in the upcoming weeks…so, I will try to list it out as best I can. I tend to train mornings Monday -Friday from 11am-12pm, and Saturdays from 11am-2pm. I am also adding Thursday evening competition class to that schedule from 8pm-9:30pm. So, those are my main training times, and any spare time I have, I’ll throw in other classes as well. Gotta train! But, since I don’t get any of this love in Alaska, I gotta get out and enjoy the activities and culture of this fair city. I just gotta!

So here’s my “To-Do” list for the month of July! Anything with an asterisk * is tentative.

June 30th/July 1st: L.A.T.E Ride – 10:30pm
July 2nd: Full Moon Fire Jam (Done)
July 3rd: Spiderman Premiere (Antioch)
July 4th: Independence Concert @ Millennium Park – 6:30pm
July 6th: Grant Park Music Festival (Sleepers and Dreamers World Premiere) – 6:30pm
July 7th: UFC 148!!!!!!!
July 8th: * Rock Around the Block and/or West Fes
July 11th: Grant Park Music Festival ( Frozen Planet in Concert) – 8:30pm
July 12th: Race to the Taste 5K – 6:15pm
July 13th: Michael Franti & Spearhead @ The Taste of Chicago
July 14th: Chaka Khan & Raphael Saadiq @ The Taste of Chicago
July 18th: Grant Park Music Festival (Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances) – 6:30pm
July 20th: * Dark Knight Premiere and/or Milwaukee Ave Arts Fest and/or Taste of River North
July 21st: Grant Park Music Festival (Rossini’s Stabat mater) – 7:30
* Wedding reception
* Roscoe Village Burger Fest
* Sheffield Garden Walk & Festival
* Milwaukee Ave. Arts Festival
* Taste of River North
July 22nd: * Roscoe Village Burger Fest
* Sheffield Garden Walk & Festival
* Milwaukee Ave. Arts Festival
* Taste of River North
July 25th: Grant Park Music Festival (Frozen in Time) – 6:30pm
July 26th: Undie Dash – 6:30pm
July 27th: Grant Park Music Festival (Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony) – 6:30pm
* Wicker Park Fest
July 28th: * Wicker Park Fest
* Taste of Lincoln Ave.
* Triple Crown of Yo-Yo Competition @ Wrigley Square
July 29th: * Taste of Lincoln Ave.

Now, that’s everything that’s out of my planner, and I have yet to add Chicago Summerdance Festival and a few other things to that. In addition, there is my summer to do list, that my dear friend Sara Stevens helped me to construct.
So, as for that list:

  • Eat at Sticky Rice
  • Walk around Downtown Chicago (Done, but you can never do this enough)
  • Concert at Millennium Park (Done, but you can never do this enough)
  • Summerdance Festival
  • Kuma’s Corner
  • Navy Pier @ Night (Done, but you can never do this enough)
  • Stained Glass Museum
  • Street Festivals (Done, but you can never do this enough)
  • Movie day in Pyjamas ; and yes, that is a proper spelling
  • Go to the beach during the day
  • Train Jiu Jitsu (Done, but you can never do this enough)
  • Walk the beach at night
  • Learn how to swim.
  • Go to the zoo
  • Play Tennis
  • Smoothies
  • L.A.T.E. Ride
  • Camping
  • Go to the Doughnut Vault

If there is anything I need to add to this list, please let me know. I’m looking to squeeze every little bit of fun out of this summer. Never know, it could be my last.

So, as for you my dear friends. Get in where you fit in. I would love to see any and all of you. Let me know when, where, and we’ll figure it out. I’m also going through a selfish summer, so if you would like to see me, as I would love to see all of you, assume it will be in the city limits, where CTA transportation exists. Rock on!

Leave a Reply

