Give Thanks and Praises…

I’ve been wanting to post this for a while.  However, it just seemed that other things have taken over my life for the time being.  No time seems like the right time..how often does that happen in life…with so many things.

So, now I’m taking a few moments, and while I had this perfectly thought out blog to fill in this space, days later, I can’t remember any of it.  However, I do recall the sentiments that I wanted to express, so here goes…

First, I wanted to thank everyone for the huge amount of positive sentiments I received on my birthday.  While I spend the day picketing and rallying in favor of the current CTU strike going on, it was nothing short of amazing to know that at least for a few moments, so many people took a moment out of their day in the pursuit of making my day a little brighter.  It was much needed, and much appreciated.

Beyond that, special thanks go to some people who did some awesome things. My friend Karla and her kids, who all live in Alaska, baked me an awesome cake, decorated it with “Happy Birthday Dion” and then sang happy birthday to me via Skype.  It totally brought tears to my eyes.  Who does things like that nowadays?  Special thanks to Jennifer, whom had her baker at the local super market special make me German Chocolate Cupcakes, because she remembered German chocolate is my favorite cake, but she knew I’d totally be mad if she’d gotten me a whole cake.  Then my friend Priscilla also gave me a cupcake, only one, because she knows I’m trying to cut back on the sweets.

Thank you to my dear friends Svenja, Rebecca, and Theresa for the birthday cards, and yes Theresa, you were totally right in your assumption that I could use the Subway gift card.  I totally had some good meals on you these past few days.

Beyond my birthday, this transition to working in Chicago has been rough…and I wouldn’t have made it through without my friends.  Huge thanks to Elizabeth, Bruce, and Jessica for extending their guest bedroom to me for an extended stay.  While I love my family, living with them is a constant source of stress for myself.  Too much chaos for my personal life.  However, thanks to my mom for always having a spot on the couch for me if I need it.

Since starting work with CPS, it has been a bit of a cluster screw…and while I’ve been working since August 6th, my paperwork was only completed a week ago, and I have yet to get paid.  Needless to say, it’s been rough, but thanks to those friends who’ve loaned me money for gas and food.  I hate borrowing money, and it’s even hard for me to admit that I had to do so…anyone who knows me knows that my pride and independence just doesn’t jive with that…but I’ve had to do what I’ve had to do, and you all know that first check I get, you all will get back. Many thanks!

Thanks to everyone who’ve simply sat and talked with me, or visited, or gone for the occasional walk with me.  Those moments are priceless, and I enjoy them more than anything…well short of training Jiu Jitsu, which I haven’t done steadily since this whole thing started, and that in itself is a huge source of stress.  But, all things in due time.  I’ll see the mats again soon.

So, if there is someone I’ve forgotten, please excuse me.  I am eternally grateful for all of you.  No matter how much money I may not have in my pockets, I am rich, due to the depth and richness of the friendships I have fostered over my years.  You all keep me humble, and enlivened with joy and spirit.  I truly can’t thank you enough, so I shall simply stop here.

Thank you my friends!

Leave a Reply

