Christmas Eve 2012

So it’s Christmas Eve, and I’m sitting in Bubbleland, one of the most colorful laundromats to be found anywhere. I just finished listening to some Michael Bublé and I’m currently listening to Lisa Lampanelli. If you’ve never listened to her, do so immediately.
I’ve spent the day just thinking about life and the past year. I tried to think what I did last New Years, and I can’t for the life of me. I was in Tok…probably at school watching Netflix. Well, how much life can change in 359 days. I’m now in Chicago, and taking in a newfound wealth of experience and opportunity that comes with each passing day.
The holidays tend to bum me out. I think it’s due to spending so many years in various places, often feeling lonely and isolated, due to one reason or another. After my dad passed away, that kind of dud it for me. The holidays just don’t have the same feel. I remember my dad would come by, and we’d talk and laugh, and he’d eat, and inevitably fall asleep. When we lose the familiar, I think we often flounder until we find something equally comforting.
As I look back at 2012, I’m very happy at the course my life is on, and look forward to what 2013 has to bring. I like to think that whatever comes, I’ll be able to rise to the occasion.
As 2013 approaches, I encourage you to take a few moments to look back on the past year, and see where things were great, and where they could’ve gone better, and what you hope to improve in 2013.
Enjoy the rest of the holiday season, and may all of your dreams come to you in this upcoming year.

Leave a Reply

